BEING OC ONLINE

a

a

How can new social media help OrCom?

a

a

JACK OF ALL TRADES, MASTER OF NONE

a

The most common criticism I heard about orcom program is that we have no line of specialization. But with new social media, there is a possibility that I can master anything I want, especially that I have substantial OrCom skills that can help me.

a

Remember that new social media is all about communication, so there is a greater chance that communication students like me will have an advantage in using, learning about, and learning through the new social media.

a

The most important thing I learned from UP is that one can only LEARN through ASKING Q’s. What new social media does is to get my question answered by practically anyone knowledgeable or skilled in the area I want to master across the GLOBE in real time. The difficult task however, is to sift through these answers and get only the relevant and important ideas. But since I’m an OrCom student, this should not be a problem. There’s no need to enroll in some sort of school to learn the basics, I just have to ask the online community.

a

The old idea of journeying around the world to be an expert at something is still very true, except that now, we can do it seating in front of the computer. MONEY is becoming less of a hindrance. MUCH more so because we are OrCom students and we can manage to do many things in so little time.

a

a

SORT OF [PRACTICUM] EXPERIENCE

Practicum minus the professor, the recommendation letter, & the corporate attire.

a

NSM allows me to do practicum on my own minus the requirements. I can be part of organizations Online.

a

And because my 200 hours is too short to learn, I consider new social media as an extension of my practicum. Through it, I can still work for and contribute to the organization I did my practicum in. I can make them an SMR, a viral video, maybe develop a digital marketing strategy for their brand, and help solve conflicts among employees through facebook J.

a

NSM also allows me to observe communication processes when they occur because everything in NSM is documented. Through recent hits and most popular list from youtube, for example, I can understand vlogging, how I can maximize its use to communicate with my audience.

a

a

MY THESIS BUDDY

a

First, consultation is done via facebook. We can harass our advisers anytime they are logged in.

a

NSM helps me realize what needs to be answered and what I have to look at. I can ask questions, suggestions and comments from other researchers. I can even ask from the founder of OrCom theories, but of course, I have to assume that they have to be alive to use NSM. Gathering data from co-researchers across the globe will not be a problem, unless they will ask dollars in return.

a

And lastly, OrCom can put up a database containing all pdf version of OrCom theses.

Leave a comment